I’ve discovered the new Cronut…it´s the Spone!

I know….I can´t believe it, I’ve discovered the Spone! – quite by accident, mainly due to not concentrating, not wearing my glasses and talking on the phone. It´s the Sponge cake and Scone.  I would have called it the ´sconge´, until I googled the word and had quite a fright…urban dictionary has 6 definitions for the word ´sconge´, none of them being appropriate….at…all.

Perfect for afternoon tea, as light as a sponge cake but with the bite of a scone. I added a huge dollop of my homemade orange and campari marmalade (you can find my recipe here) to the mixture and a handful of sultanas that have been sitting in my cupboard for a few months (okay, more than a year!) along with a liberal sprinkling of cinnamon.

MARMALADE

orange and campari marmalade

I´m not a cake maker, so I don´t have the tins to make a full size sponge, so after throwing the contents of my kitchen cupboards on the floor, I found x2 silicone mini tart cases and x2 mini springform cake tins both 11-12cm wide.

YOU WILL NEED:

  • 175g plain flour
  • 1 heaped tsp baking powder
  • 40g butter
  • 45g sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 150ml milk
  • massive dollop of orange marmalade
  • 1 dessertspoon of cinnamon
  • handful of dried sultanas

HOW TO MAKE:

spone200

perfect with a cuppa

1.  Sift the plain flour, baking powder, cinnamon and sugar into a large bowl.

2. Chop the butter into cubes, put the butter into the bowl with the flour etc and continue to chop the butter into smaller pieces with a knife.

3. With cold hands (run them under the cold water tap for a few minutes) rub the butter, only using your fingers into the flour until you have the consistency of a light breadcrumb

4. Add a big dollop of shredded orange marmalade and the sultanas to the mixture and mix well with a knife.

5. Beat and egg into 150ml of cold milk and add it all to the mixture and mix well.

6. Pour into cake tins.

7. Cook for 12-15 minutes on 220c in the top half of the oven. remove when the top of golden and the mixture has risen.

8. Cool on a wire rack before adding filling. I made a simple buttercream with butter, icing sugar and a dash of lime juice, but you can serve warm with butter and jam also.

Not as big as sponge, not as small as a scone. Enjoy.

 

a person who never made a mistake never tried anything new – Albert Einstein

Leave a Reply

